notary reference library header
Questions? Call (727) 578-4400 

Show all answers       Hide all answers

How do I become a notary?
Effective 1 July 2000, all new Notary Public applicants are required to complete a three (3) hour interactive or classroom training course. Following completion of the mandatory training, you must complete a Notary Public Application, sign the Notary Public Bond, select an optional increased Errors & Omission Insurance Policy, select the Notary Seal, and mail all information to our office for processing.
Do I need to take the Training Course?
If you have EVER held a Notary Commission in Florida you do not need to take the class.
How much does it cost to become a notary?
Approximately $121.99 (tax is included) for four years. This includes $39.00 State Filing Fee, $40.00 Notary Bond, and $15.00 and up for a Notary Stamp. This does not include the optional increased Errors & Omission Insurance Policy.
For how long is my commission as Florida Notary Public good?
Four years.
How long does it take to become a notary?
The entire process takes approximately 2 weeks if all of the paperwork is in order.
How can I expedite the commission process?
Ensure that the application is legable, complete, the Bond form is signed, and a check in the correct amount is included with the application for processing.
How do I check my status in the commission process?
Contact our office at (800) 555-1212.
How long do I need to live in Florida in order to become a notary public?
There is currently no specific length of residency. However, you must be a resident in the State of Florida that is defined as living within the State for at least six months out of the year.
If I live outside the State of Florida but work in Florida, can I become a Florida notary?
No, you must be a Florida resident to become a Notary Public.
I received my stamp, but not my certificate. Can I begin notarizing?
Yes, if you have been notified that you have been approved.
Why do I need a bond?
Florida Statute, section 117.01(7)(a), states that a bond is required. The State of Florida will not issue a certificate without the bond.
What is E&O insurance?
Errors and Omissions Insurance protects you, the Notary Public, from legal expenses and damages caused by your notarial acts.
Is the Errors & Omission insurance required?
No, Errors & Omission (E & O) Insurance is not required by law. However, it is highly recommended since the bond only protects the public, while the E & O protects you. Our package includes $5,000 worth of Errors & Omissions protection. You may purchase higher limits if you choose.
What insurance company is backing the Notary Public bond and Errors & Omission Insurance?
RLI, rated A++ (Superior) by A.M. Best Company signifies that they have the financial strength to provide the insurance protection you need.
If my name is incorrectly spelled on my certificate, what should I do to correct it?
Return the incorrect certificate to our office. We will file a correction and replace the certificate for you.
I got married and changed my name. What do I need to do?
Notary Law requires you to notify the State of Florida of your change. To do this, complete the Name Change Form, include your original Certificate or letter stating the certificate is lost, and a check for $25.00 for the State Filing Fee plus the amount of the requested stamp.
How long after I change my name do I have to change my commission?
Notary Law requires the notary to forthwith request an amended commission. This is interpreted to be immediately with no grace period. You may continue to use your old certificate name until receipt of your amended name certificate.
How do I renew my commission?
A renewal is identical to a new commission. You will need to complete a new application, sign the Bond Form, select your stamp, and optional Errors & Omission Insurance. You may submit your renewal no sooner than 120 days prior to your expiration date. It is recommended that you not wait until the very end as you may have a gap in commissions.
How much does it cost to renew my commission?
The cost is the same as a new application. Approximately $95.00 for four years. This includes $39.00 State Filing Fee, $40.00 Notary Bond, and $15.00 and up for a Notary Stamp. This does not include the increased optional Errors & Omission Insurance.
How do I cancel my commission if I am leaving the State of Florida?
Send our office a written letter of resignation, and we will file it with the Governor\'s office. Once you resign your commission, you will be required to reapply as a new applicant if you wish to re-instate your commission.
Can I transfer my notary commission to another state if I move?
No, your commission is only valid in the State of Florida. Each state has their own Notary Laws by which you must abide.
Can I use other colors of ink on my notary seal other than black?
No, you must use black ink so that it is photographically reproducible.
Can I notarize documents for family members?
No, according to Florida Law a notary may not notarize a document for their mother, father, spouse, son(s), or daughter(s).
Can I perform a marriage ceremony in Florida?
Yes, the Notary Law permits a notary to perform marriages. For additional information, see the “How to Perform Marriages” booklet included in the software.
Can a notary notarize outside of the State of Florida?
No, you are only allowed to notarize in the State of Florida.
Can I charge a fee for a notarization in Florida?
Yes, Florida allows you the option to charge up to $10.00 per notarial act and up to $20.00 to perform a marriage.
Can I notarize a copy of a birth certificate?
No, Birth Certificates are official documents and cannot be certified by a Notary. Certified copies may be obtained from the custodian of the document.
If I have a financial interest in the transaction being notarized, should I act as the notary?
No.
Can I notarize a signature on a document that has been prepared in another state?
Yes, as long as the Notary Form conforms to Florida Law and is notarized in the State of Florida.
Can I act as a witness and a notary on the same document?
Yes.
Do I need to keep a record book in the State of Florida?
Florida Law does not require a record book of every notarial act. However, it is highly recommended as a preventive measure in case a question is ever raised.
If someone brings in a document to be notarized and the information is not complete, what should I do?
Have the individual complete the form and ensure that there are no blanks left on the form. Use N/A if necessary before notarizing the document.
Where can I get a declaration of domicile?
The Clerk of the Circuit Court in the county of your residence.
Can I notarize a foreign document?
Yes, however most countries will require evidence of a notary’s commission. Usually an apostille of a certificate of notarial authority will be required for each document notarized. The Apostille may be obtained by contacting the Bureau of Notaries Public and submitting $10.


1120 Belcher Road South - Suite #1
Largo, FL 33771
(727) 578-4400 Office
(727) 577-4991 Fax

© 2001-2016 Vermost Insurance Agency - Romare